Employee Management

  1. Overview
    • After signing up your Employer account, you may Add or Import Employees through Employee->Management.
    • Employee records must be added prior to inviting employees to sign up for their Employee Web Accounts.
    • You may enable or disable Employee Web Accounts anytime if necessary. Once an Employee Web Account is disabled, the employee will no longer be able to sign in to current Employer's Portal (If the disabled Employee Web Account is associated with other Employer accounts too, then the employee will still be able to sign in to other Employer's Portal through the same Employee Web Account).
  2. Archving Employees and Handling Employees Re-joining
    • For practical reasons (see below), once an employee record is created, you will not be able to delete it. Instead, you may Archive the employee records for employees that are no longer under active employment.
    • The reasons that employee records have to be archived instead of being deleted:
      1. More often than not, an employee's record may be referenced by other data of the system. For instance, an outgoing employee may be the Leave Approver of other employees, thus deleting the employee record will render leave transaction data in limbo state.
      2. In real life, employers will not burn employee files once they depart from any organization.
      3. Employees may rejoin an organization after departure, particularly for part-timers.
    • To archive an employee, you may go to Employee->Management, then select the employee to be archived and click the Archive button, pick a "Reason" (either Resigned, Dismissed, Contract Ended, Retired, Retrenched or Deceased) and an "Effective Date" for the action.
    • When an employee is archived, he / she will no longer appear in the usual query result. To list Archived employees in the query result, you will need to change the Status in Condition 2 of the Query Criteria (on the left panel) to either Archived, All or any of the specific archiving reasons.
    • Note that archiving an employee does not automatically disable his / her Employee Web Account. If you do not want to let an employee who has left your organization to sign in the Employer's Portal, you will need to disable his / her Employee Web Account.
    • If an archived employee (say an employee who resigned) is under active employment again (re-hired), you may go to Employee->Employment Status, search for the employee (remember to change the Status of Condition 2 of the Query Criteria to Archived), then Edit the selected employee and add a new Employment Status for him / her. This way the employee's historical records will all be kept intact and you will always know when the employee leaves and re-joins the organization again.
  3. Tracking Employment and Salary Changes
    • HR.my allows you to keep track of important changes to an employee's employment. Besides the change in Employment Status (such as the example in the previous section), you may also keep track of Job Status changes (which affects the change of Job Position, Line Manager, Department, Branch or Level), as well as Salary Adjustment and Visa / Work Permit.
    • For this purpose, Job Status, Employment Status and Salary Adjustment must always maintain at least one record.
    • As a typical example, if an employee happens to have a salary adjustment, you may add a new record registering the salary details and effective date for the latest change. Thus this employee's salary adjustment history will always be readily available for management purpose.